I Didn’t Realize How Disorganized I Was Until I Organized My Work Life

You don’t know what you don’t know. And you don’t even know you don’t know it.

Liss Campbell
4 min readMay 28, 2021
Donuts organized neatly
Photo by Heather Ford on Unsplash

In general, I am a fairly neat person. I used Marie Kondo’s tidying method on all my belongings at the beginning of last year, and in October read her most recent book Joy at Work, and used her method again on my workspace.

Everything sparked joy.

A Stumbling Start

This past March I was fortunate enough to finally land a post-COVID full-time email marketing contract for a confection company. I lucked out extra hard, because not only are sprinkles right up my alley, but the work and the team are both amazing.

I knew something was off because, for a job I came into quite confident of my abilities to do, everything about it felt hard, even the tasks that would normally be easy. Things like basic reporting became a scavenger hunt, and I could never find my place in a mess of Untitled Sheet tabs with overwhelming amounts of email performance data.

That disorganization carried over into my part of Monday performance meetings. My metrics were difficult to understand, and I’d stumble through them while presenting, impressing nobody in the process.

--

--

Liss Campbell

Nature obsessor, desert dweller, gastropod admirer, and oxford comma lover.